RSS

TWIST OF FATE : #9

13 Jul

twist_of_fateSalmon sat alone in his study room. It was dark except for the lamp on the desk, illuminating the DNA results he spread out before him and he stared down endlessly at it. Bella and Maria were biologically his daughters but Aliyah wasn’t his. How long has this been going? His mind wandered in anguish. He looked towards the door when he heard a knock and the knocking went on consistently.

“Please open the door, Salmon. I know you are in there.” Ifeoma’s pleading voice penetrated through the door. He remained seated for several minutes longer before he stood up and went to unlock the door. She stood just inside the room, trying to adjust her eyes to the darkness while he locked the door and went back to his seat.

“Why have you been avoiding me? Why are you not talking to me?” She asked quietly.

“Have your seat.” He gestured to the wooden chair in front of the desk. She moved on heavy feet to sit down with her eyes glued to the papers in front of him and her heart hammered with dread.

“Please take a look at this.” He picked up the results and held it out to her. Her hand trembled as she collected the papers from him and she stared down at it blindly without seeing a thing but she knew what was there! She had been fearing this day since that cursed night that she allowed mindless passion to rule her life. She was surprised at the feeling of relief that went through her and the feeling of terror that followed.

“You cheated on me, Ifeoma.” He stated clearly, calmly. She put the papers back on the desk and stared at him soberly. “I loved those kids with my life but it was the one that held the string to my heart that ended up not being mine. Why did you do it?” He asked bitterly and she swallowed hard.

“I have suffered and paid for this mistake for a very long time. What can I say, salmon? Telling you I deeply regret it will not undo the past or the damage done but I am so sorry for hurting you this way.” Tears filled her eyes and spilled uncheck down her cheek.

“Who is he? What did he offer you that I couldn’t or didn’t offer you?” He asked bitterly.

She sighed heavily and stared down at her entwined hands.

“He was a senior colleague and my immediate boss back then. We worked together as a team. Most times, we stayed behind to work late into the night and we grew quite close. He gave me the attention I didn’t know I was craving for and bought me silly little things that warmed my heart. By then, you and I have grown apart and seemed to be living separate lives. He was a divorcee and his family was out of the country or so he told me. It happened one night when we traveled to Abuja on a business trip.” She swallowed hard and gazed at her husband through tear-filled eyes.

***************

“Ifeoma, please let’s do a quick recap of those issues we raised in the board meeting. I have some documents in my room that I will like to give to you to go through when you are less busy. I promise not to take more than a few minutes of your time so we can retire to bed on time.” Kingsley had said briskly with a polite smile as the meeting ended and he got to his feet.

“I am right behind you sir.” She responded as she smiled at the other executives and bid them goodnight as they filed out of the conference room in a single row.

“Please have your seat. What can I offer you?” He went straight to the fridge in a corner of his King-sized room.

“I have already had enough food during dinner. I will just take a look at those documents and retire to bed. I am so tired right now.” She hides a yawn behind her palm as she dropped on the long sofa in the room and eased her feet out of the navy blue high heel she wore.

“Well, you won’t mind taking some wine then.” He brought out a bottle of red wine and two wine glasses.

“Thank you. I hope it is not too alcoholic because my system can’t take too much of it.” She smiled as he poured the rich red drink into the wine glass and handed it to her.

“No, it is a sweet wine. How are your girls?” He poured himself a glass and sat down beside her.

“I am missing them so much. I wish I can spend more time with them but this banking job is so demanding.” She stated with a sigh and took a sip. “Wow! This is so sweet. I have such a terrible sweet tooth.” She grinned as she gulped down the drink.

“I love your dedication to your work. I am confident you will make it to the top of your career sooner than you expect.” He topped her wine glass and took a sip of his own.

“Thank you for your vote of confidence. I appreciate you. You have been a great mentor and supervisor to me.” She smiled at him. He grinned at her and his dimple winked. Her heart gave a lurch.

They talked about her family, his own and the general nature of their job.

“I need to use the loo.” She got to her feet and the room seemed to be spinning on its axis. “I think I am drunk.” She giggled helplessly as she weaved her way unsteadily to the restroom.

He was clad in his boxers’ shorts and under-vest when she came out. He met her half-way into the room.

“You are a bit unsteady on your feet. Lie down. It will soon wear off.” He guided her onto his bed.

“I need to start going to my room. We have an early morning flight to catch tomorrow.” She stretched out gratefully. He sat down on the bed and massaged the soul of her aching foot one after the other.

“Thank you. How did you learn how to do that?” She purred with pleasure as she closed her eyes.

“You are a beautiful woman.” His voice was close to her ear and her eyes opened slowly to see him staring at her lips. Her throat went dry and she struggled to sit up.

“Easy, baby. I didn’t mean to scare you.” He eased her back on the bed as he smiled at her and kissed her eyelids.

“I don’t think we should be doing this.” She began in a weak voice. Her limbs weigh a ton. She watched him helplessly as he parted her legs slightly and traced his fingers up her inner thigh. Her thighs quivered in anticipation and desire curled deep in her belly.

Unknown to her, he had studied her carefully and planned every detail. He turned out to be the best lover she ever had. He held her gaze as he settled between her spread thighs. He reached for her pants beneath her trim pencil skirt and rolled it down slowly. The skirts pulled at her waist and her hips jerked involuntarily when he flicked his tongue over the center of her womanhood. She moaned and groaned as he teased her mercilessly.

His finger joined his tongue and she buckled hard as the several orgasms rolled over her in rapid succession. He came up for air with a wicked smile and pushed up her camisole as he flicked his tongue over the navel.

“Please…” Her voice ended in a whimper as he slipped his fingers into her bra and teased her nipples.

“Tell me what you want, baby. I will gladly do it.” He whispered against her mouth as he pulled off her jacket and she allowed him to undress her.

He took her in several positions and she enjoyed every moment of it. She fell asleep towards dawn, satisfied and exhausted. Kingsley arranged her nude beautiful body in several obscene positions and took lots of her pictures. He then put away the video recorder that was hidden in a corner of the room and the camera and joined her in bed for an early morning romp before they started preparing for their morning flight back to Lagos.

***************

“He was sacked shortly after we returned back to Lagos on several fraudulent charges. I was shocked because I never see it coming. I was promoted to his position and the nightmare began.” She stated sadly.

“Was he blackmailing you?” Salmon frowned at her.

“Yes. I think he planned everything that happened that night. He recorded everything that took place between us and took several incriminating pictures. He was sued to court after he was sacked and was nearly sent to jail if not for the help of a very expensive lawyer who drained him financially. As a result, his career was ruined and he found it difficult to start all over again. He has been blackmailing me for more than fifteen years.” She stated tiredly.

“I see. Does he know he is Aliyah’s father?” He asked quietly.

“No, he doesn’t. I didn’t even know I was pregnant until I was in my second trimester. I did my calculation and knew the baby wasn’t yours. You never noticed or suspected either and I just kept it to myself. Can you ever find it in your heart to forgive me?” Her voice was hoarse with tears as she stared at him. He sighed.

“I don’t know. I am not even sure our marriage will remain the same. What should we do with Aliyah?” He gave her a steady look.

“The ball is in your court. I know you love her very much and she would be heart-broken if you chose to tell her.” She shrugged weakly as she used the pack of her palm to wipe the tears and mucus running down her face.

“Go to bed, Ifeoma. We will discuss this another time.” He sat back, suddenly very tired. She buried her face on the desk and sobbed as if her heart would break.

If you are Salmon, what will you do?

Thank you for reading. Please drop your comment.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
